Cabin fever?

I’m not sure about you, but finding ways to keep younger kids entertained isn’t easy when you are stuck inside all the time. Sometimes I just go crazy! The rain, the freezing cold, the rain, the storms, did I mention the rain?? You learn to embrace it in your everyday life here, but doesn’t mean I constantly want to wear the soaking wet fashion with an accessory of the seasonal flu.

So how do you keep three kids entertained when you stay inside a majority of the time? Or maybe you just need some money saver ideas, going out all the time can get expensive real fast.

I’m not one for extremely messy crafts, maybe it’s due to my type A personality. I just loath seeing glitter all over the house and spending the next month cleaning it out of the carpets or scrubbing it off the floor. Plus I needed something more baby friendly, during those rare moments my son isn’t screaming from teething I like to go hide in solitary. Not spend it cleaning up after a failed Pinterest craft that my kids decided would be better to just throw at each other anyways.

So I created stations! It’s a win win for me. The kids can’t make a huge mess since it’s a smaller amount of toys in one area. Once they’re bored they can move onto something else.

My 5 and 4 year old love LOVE playing with baby toys, works great for me! They usually last for about 1.5-2 hours playing with these which is great since most are quieter!

image

In my son’s room I tried to create different areas they could move to.

image

Again with the baby toys, but seriously I think they spend more time playing with these then they do their own age appropriate toys.

image

My older son’s space, and what room wouldn’t be completed without legos?! Those are my saving grace and my cursed enemy. He has a table (doubles for playing with trains) but I still find those little pieces everywhere! Im convinced toy story is true and legos are the evil toys that move in the night so you can step on them half asleep and get a nice wake up call. Not pictured is my sons little reading corner which i can usually get 30 minutes of quiet time out of a day.

image

The dress up station. Even my oldest son likes to play with his sister which is great! I laugh hysterically watching my 5 year old walk into the room to model a sofia the first dress in some blinged out high heels.

image

My daughter would actually be content spending most her day in her room playing with her barbies and dolls. Which is great!

image

the kitchen station!  Complete with their own keurig too. Because what child doesn’t need a keurig to establish a coffee drinking addiction with?!

Usually I have a box of hidden toys that I rotate out throughout the year so they always think they are playing with new toys every few months. These stations keep my kids entertained for most of the day! Just categorize your toys and break them up into different sections of the house. Once they’re done, clean up and move onto the next. If you have older(ish) kids, consider getting some toys that are younger for their age group. They will have just as much fun, if not more, playing with those then they would with toys for their age.

If all else fails…

image

Get a box! coloring, pretend play, gigantic spaceship, the possibilities are endless!

Or you can always have the dog kid sit. image

totally kidding….

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Samantha says:

    Great ideas! I totally agree with rotating a box of toys. And I love the dog and baby picture! So cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen says:

    Whoa! That’s a genius idea! I don’t have kids but I’m always babysitting my nephew and sometimes we are at a loss at what to do. Having stations would allow him some movement and inspiration. Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gussie says:

    Too cute! Awesome ideas! I used a couple of these when I was a nanny!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jenny says:

    Great ideas! I do a lot of toy rotating here too…the less they have out at once the smaller messes they can make! 😉 I totally hear you on the Legos. With 6 boys we have about a million of them. My teens joke that they sharpen them when I’m not looking. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kristin says:

    Awesome ideas. I’ve been trying to rotate a lot more lately, it really works!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

